Spain now lists all of the European Union and Schengen Zone countries as areas with a high incidence of COVID-19 cases, and thus, implements tight entry restrictions for travellers from all these countries reaching the Spanish territory.

The only country outside this list is the non-EU Schengen country of Switzerland, travellers from which can enter Spain under less stringent restrictions than the rest of the EU and Schengen nationals, reports.

Updating the list, the Spanish Ministry of Health, Consumption and Social Welfare has announced that the same will remain effective for a week until January 5, 2022.

“The list will become effective from 12:00 am (midnight) on December 30, 2021, and will be valid until 23:59 on January 5, 2022,” the Ministry notes.

Travellers from EU and Schengen Area countries part of the high-risk list are obliged to complete a Health Control Form before departure and obtain their QR code, which should be presented to boarding and health controls upon arrival in Spain.

“As of June 7, if you come from a country/area at risk in relation to COVID-19, you must present a certificate or document proving vaccination, diagnostic test for active infection (PDIA) or recovery from COVID-19. These certificates will be (treated) different if they have been issued in a country of the European Union (EU Digital COVID Certificate) or in a third country,” the Ministry of Health explains.

It also notes that exempt from the requirement to present any of these certificates are children under the age of 12. The same, are still obliged to complete the Health Control Form and obtain a QR code.

According to the Ministry of Health, at least until the same date, January 5, the list of non-EU high-risk areas will also remain unchanged, as well as the restrictions imposed on travellers from countries in this list, which are Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

This means that travel from these countries remains impossible, except for Spanish and Andorran citizens, including residents of both countries and passengers transiting to a non-Schengen country with a stopover of less than 24 hours without leaving the airport’s transit zone.

On December 30, reported that the Spanish Government has decided to extend the entry ban that has been imposed against the majority of third countries, at least until the end of January this year.

Due to the ban, travellers from the majority of third countries who are unable to present a valid vaccination certificate will be denied entry when reaching Spain for travel purposes. Exempt are only travellers from the safe list, which are Argentina, Australia, Bahrein, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Indonesia, Kuwait, New Zealand, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, the United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, China (including Hong Kong, and Macao).